Taking the proper steps in the aftermath of a Florida car accident is crucial to your health and finances. For instance, even if you're involved in a minor collision, seeing a doctor immediately after an accident is vital.
It may also be a requirement before you can seek financial compensation through your Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance in Florida insurance in Florida. Luckily, avoiding this simple mistake is as easy as making your way to a healthcare facility as soon as the police permit you to leave the scene of an accident.
The 14-Day Florida PIP Statute
Under Florida law, a car accident victim has 14 days from the date of their accident to seek medical care.
It’s important to remember that you waive your rights to compensation if you don't file a claim or lawsuit by the Florida PIP statute of limitations 14-day deadline. You’ll also waive that right if you neglect to visit a doctor promptly after a collision.
What is Florida PIP Insurance?
In Florida, motorists must purchase Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance to register a vehicle. PIP insurance in Florida helps cover the costs of medical care for a car accident victim's injuries.
Florida is a no-fault car accident state, so a victim must seek compensation for medical bills and related losses by filing a claim with their insurance. Filing a claim is necessary even when an accident results from the negligence of another party.
What's the Purpose of the 14-Day Law?
Florida statute 627.736 states that a driver's PIP insurance must help cover their medical bills if they seek medical care within 14 days of the accident. But, if you're involved in a car accident in Florida and wait more than 14 days to seek medical care, your insurance may not have to compensate you accordingly.
The Florida PIP statute highlights the importance of seeing a doctor on the day of an accident. Seeking medical care promptly is a step towards receiving compensation for your injuries.
Another purpose of this law is to simplify insurance claims after motor vehicle collisions. When filing such a claim, you must demonstrate that your injuries resulted from the car accident. But, if you wait too long to seek medical care, proving your injuries weren't the result of a separate incident may be difficult, and disputes with the insurance company could arise.
What Happens if I Wait Longer Than 14 Days?
Waiting longer than 14 days to seek medical care after a Florida car accident could result in losing the right to receive financial compensation from your PIP insurance. Even if you didn't seek medical care right away because the symptoms of an injury only arose after the 14-day deadline, the law would still apply.
But there are exceptional circumstances. Even if you technically missed the 14-day deadline, consider reviewing your case with an attorney. In unique situations, a lawyer can provide information that may help you obtain compensation.
What Kind of Providers Qualify for the 14-Day PIP Statute?
The 14-day PIP rule applies to insurance providers in Florida who meet the requirements of Florida statute 627.733. The law also requires a PIP insurance provider to cover 80% of a victim's necessary medical expenses when they file a valid claim. However, an insurer must only offer coverage for up to $10,000 in medical costs.
How Much Coverage Do Florida PIP Insurance Providers Offer?
Your medical bills may exceed $10,000 in the aftermath of a collision. Strongly consider reviewing your case with a Florida car accident attorney if so.
Although Florida is technically a no-fault state, there are instances when car accident victims can file separate claims or lawsuits against the insurance of negligent drivers who cause their accidents. Filing a claim is an option when a victim's injuries are severe enough to meet certain thresholds under Florida law.
A lawyer can review your case and explain your legal options. Be aware that even if you don't have grounds to file a third-party claim, a lawyer may still be able to help you pursue compensation from your insurance company.
Work With a Florida Accident Attorney When Filing Your PIP Claim
Remember that this law benefits you by encouraging you to seek medical attention immediately because sustaining an injury in a motor vehicle accident is possible without realizing it. Seeing a doctor as soon as possible ensures you receive the care you might not know you need.
You can start today with Accident.com to find a Florida car accident lawyer accepting cases in your area.